top of page

Cult Following: 5 Bag Brands to Know


It was Mercy Supply Co.'s copper rivets that first caught my eye, marked with their brand emblem. I stumbled upon their Etsy shop a few years ago and have been watching them from the sidelines ever since. The aesthetic is a clean rugged-ness that makes my heart ache. Using quality materials like waxed canvas and oiled leather, this brand builds them to last in the US. Here is a brand that really understands how important branding is from a product line's inception- another thing that gets my heart beat up. The founder, Rusty Zylstra, takes great care to offer products that are timeless and carefully handmade in small batch runs. (I would really love to work with this brand someday!) Product functionality, longevity, and durability are all at the heart of this design driven company

Billykirk caught my attention back in 2011 while surfing the web. Started by two brothers, their bags are handmade in Jersey City, and at other US based manufacturers (like the Amish!). They have been steadily on the rise in the handbag world as consumer trends turn to products that are quality driven as opposed to trending. I can't get enough of the vegetable tanned leather bags and large framed work bags like the No.165 Carry All.

This luxury brand launched in 2015 and is headed by one of my former coworkers and current friends. Proudly made in NYC and aiming to , "...bring one of a kind, bold pieces to the traditional luxury market." I can't wait to see what future collections will brings!

Hard Graft is made in Italy and based in London. Ultra luxurious, but very thoughtfully designed. They also have their visual branding cues down pat. Sold direct to consumer on their website. This brand is very well curated and they offer several cool and unique concepts like the "Unpack" or the "Boxed Card Case". (Also I am a sucker for grey wool felt mixed with aged vachetta leathers!)

This brand and I met on Etsy. I really like the mix of vintage and new materials and it was this unique look that made me want to learn more. Made in Germany, this brand upcycles materials in every bag such as old army tents, mail bags, blankets, and vintage leather jackets. I find that the pastiche of materials and random markings of the recycle materials give the bags a sort of post apocalyptic fashion look. (Anyone else see characters from Divergence carrying these around Chicago?) They are committed to reducing waste with every bag- an arrow straight to my heart!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Socal Media
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page